Can I Buy a Vowel?

Posted: April 25, 2008 in Miscellaneous

I am scheduled for an esophagogastroduodenoscopy in three hours. Easy for me to say.

My crude understanding is that I will be swallowing a video camera. I have had to swallow a lot of things in my day, but to my recollection, a video camera has not been one of them. Oh well. I’m fond of new experiences.

The first set of good news was that my persistent chest pain was not heart-related. The second set of good news was that taking a certain pill every morning has made the pain (mostly) subside. The third set of news could be good or bad. And it involves swallowing a video camera for a test I cannot remember how to say, much less spell. Which is why it’s popularly called an EGD.

I guess it could reveal nothing, but that would be troubling since there’s something going on in my chest and it isn’t heart trouble. On the flip side, it could be esophageal cancer, which would really suck since that’s incurable. Most probably it will be one of many choices of esophagus-related maladies, requiring daily medicine and some lifestyle changes.

If you are warped, you can read about my impending test HERE.

I’ll let you know how the test turns out. Or maybe the video will be available on YouTube.

Comments
  1. K. Rex Butts says:

    Praying with you and for you!

    Rex

  2. alsturgeon says:

    Thanks, Rex!!!

    Found out is a combination of hiatal hernia, esophagitis, gastritis, and probably more “itises” too. 🙂

    They biopsied five places – normal procedure, and probably nothing – but won’t hear back from them for a few weeks.

    Thanks again for your prayers.

  3. rossblog says:

    I’ll be praying, too, Al!

    — Bobby

Leave a Reply

