Meet Me At The Fair

Posted: September 29, 2008 in Miscellaneous

Our congregation held a ministry fair yesterday morning. We enjoyed mixing and mingling with everyone, meeting new people, and getting to know better those we have already met. All of the ministries of the church set up information booths complete with brochures and sign-up sheets. It was very cool to see all the good things going on through the University Church of Christ, particularly serving the poor in the area.

It was also very strange not signing up for everything. Law school is so demanding that it is simply impossible to be super involved right now. Made me feel like a slacker.

I’m still sorting out a good answer for why I came to law school. It’s funny, I’m completely positive this was the right thing to do, but I can’t come up with an easy answer for why it was the right thing to do. Lots of little parts to the answer all come together to make it right, and even if I could assemble them all in coherent fashion, no one would be interested enough to comprehend such a complex answer.

One strange thing I do know is, as strange as it sounds to my own ears, I did not come to law school to save the world. I’ve spent most of my adult life trying to save the world, but that’s not what drove me here. I recalled this yesterday at the ministry fair. I will consider this today when I don’t go to a cool sounding meeting where a guy working in the Congo speaks at the law school to tell us how he is saving the world.

I am so hard-wired toward world-saving ventures that I have to remind myself not to get sidetracked.

I feel cynical at times, but that’s not completely accurate. It isn’t that I’ve given up the idea per se, or even that I’m postponing the pursuit. It’s more that I’ve discovered a very different way to go about it. I just can’t formulate it in words yet. And I’m too busy to try.

Monday awaits.

Leave a Reply

