I Think I’ll Be a Writer

Posted: October 7, 2008 in Miscellaneous

As students go, I’m old. So old, in fact, that I missed the entire home computer phenomenon in my days as an undergrad. I did have a typewriter back then, but the idea of carrying a laptop to class is for my daughter’s generation and not mine. Now, as an old student, I’m trying to tag along.

My laptop problems over the last couple of days have created a wee bit of stress in my world. Enough that I think I’m going old school and write my exams instead of using a laptop.

This is a risky move. Although we’ve been told that one can make just as good a grade writing as typing, the fact that law school exams are races against the clock combined with the fact that most of us type much faster than we write… well, it’s a risky move.

Pepperdine offers ungraded midterm exams in our four substantive classes. Our grades are completely determined by what we make on our anonymous final exams, so midterms are really a luxury to help us determine how we’re progressing. In other words, they will scare us to death.

Anyway, my first midterm is in Civil Procedure tomorrow afternoon, and I have chosen to write it. It may be the hardest of the four to write, which is a good thing in my book. I should learn a lot about whether writing is feasible for me or not.

So we shall see, and I shall report in on how it goes for both of my readers out there.

I rest assured of one thing: if my computer crashes during my midterm exam tomorrow, I won’t be anywhere near it. πŸ™‚

Comments
  1. unicorntx says:

    I hope I am numbered among “both” your readers. I have been checking in with regularity, but not making comments.

    Thought of you several times last week as I passed Taconi parents waiting to pick up their kids!

    RE: Computers – as you know I love them, but I’m not graded on my output.

    Will await your results and reflections. Also, Happy Debate watching!

  2. alsturgeon says:

    Thanks, Bruno!

    Yeah, my relationship with computers is definitely a love/hate one. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the encouraging note.

    Your friend,
    Al

Leave a Reply

