Tenacity

Posted: October 26, 2008 in Lessons

After dropping Hillary off at a friend’s house last night, we were driving down the PCH when Jody saw none other than Matthew McConnaughey walking down the side of the road. It is weird living in Malibu.

I am totally stealing the following excerpt from my neighbor’s blog entry on Facebook. I don’t think Zac would mind my sharing it (since he posted it on Facebook). He was talking a bit about seeing stars around Malibu and shared one of his personal experiences. I’m sharing it because the gift he was given was an important lesson for me to hear right now, and I wanted to preserve it on “my” blog for reference from time to time.

Zac wrote…

I happened to be on an elevator with [Henry Winkler (The Fonz)] three years ago. I’ve long admired him as a person and I knew I couldn’t let the moment pass without saying something to him, so I turned to him and said, “Mr. Winkler, I’d really like to work with you someday.” He looks at me and says, “You’re an actor?” I said, “Yes sir.” He then turns directly towards me, gets a look of focused determination and says, “Tenacity! Tenacity, tenacity, Tenacity! You’ve got to be like that punching bag that is filled with air and has sand in the bottom. You punch it! It falls to the ground. It pops right back up! You punch it, it goes down, it comes up! Just because they say ‘no’, it doesn’t mean it is you, sometimes, it’s just the day. Remember that.” Then, as if on cue, the elevator dings and he turns and walks off. He didn’t have to say anything to me other than, “thanks”, or something to that effect – but he took the time to give me a one on one motivational speech that I will never forget. When times get tough, I remember that speech.

Leave a Reply

