Shake, Rattle & Roll

Posted: May 18, 2009 in Miscellaneous

I felt my very first California earthquake last night, a 4.7 rumbler that lasted around 10-15 seconds. First, I thought someone was moving some furniture outside in the hall, then I thought Jody & Hillary were possibly moving something around in Hillary’s bedroom, and then I finally figured out that the earth was moving itself! I still had enough time to yell for Jody & Hillary to stop and notice it, too.

It was kind of a weird feeling, having the world shaking and all, but mostly because we live on the 3rd floor of our apartment complex. It wasn’t a brand new feeling for me. I do remember a few rumblings as a kid growing up in Arkansas. I did a little internet research, and one of those I would have felt as a kid was a 5.0 on the Richter Scale.

I think I am in the process of becoming somewhat of a collector of natural disasters. So, being an expert and all, here are my thoughts so far:

* Earthquakes are boring. So far.
* Wildfires are smelly, and not fun for your eyes either.
* Snowstorms suck. I hate cold weather.
* Tornadoes are the scariest blankety-blanks of them all. Unpredictable, unavoidable killers.
* Hurricanes (and this will sound weird, I know) are the most fun, the coolest, and my personal preference. Hurricane preparations and parties are a blast, hurricane recovery is the best community-building experience ever, and the storm itself is simply awesome.

Well, there you have it. Your latest natural disaster rankings. Stay tuned for further updates.

Leave a Reply

