Psalm 151

Posted: May 24, 2009 in Miscellaneous

You know, you go to church, and you learn things.

Preacher Ken said this morning that there is a 151st Psalm included in the Bible used in the Eastern Orthodox Church. The Roman Catholic Church and the Protestant splinters never accepted it as part of the psalter, but it is out there anyway. Preacher Ken’s sermon text was the David & Goliath story today, which is why Psalm 151 factored into the sermon. If you, like me, have never even heard of it, here it is:

Psalm (151)
This Psalm is ascribed to David and is outside the number. When he slew Goliath in single combat.
(This Title given in the Septuagint)

1 Little was I among my brethren:
A younger brother in my father’s house.
2 My hands, they made an instrument of music:
My fingers, they prepared a psaltery.
3 And who shall bring back tidings to my master?
The Lord Himself, Himself gives ear.
4 Himself sent forth His messenger:
And took me from among my father’s sheep;
And with the oil of His annointing He annointed me.
5 Comely my brethren were and tall:
And yet they found not favour with the Lord.
6 But I, I sallied forth to meet the alien:
And he reviled me by all his idols.
7 But I drew forth the sword that was beside him:
I cut his head off with it,
And from the sons of Israel removed reproach.

Leave a Reply

