The Soloist

Posted: May 26, 2009 in Music, Peace

I’m really looking forward to my internship beginning next week. Working with the homeless population of Los Angeles should provide a most interesting summer.

I was talking to Dean Perrin about it at a Memorial Day Eve cookout Sunday evening, and he told me about the movie, The Soloist, out in theaters now. It is a story from the streets of L.A. about a friendship that developed between a columnist from the L.A. Times and a homeless man. Add in a little help from the Internet, and I’ve decided that I would really like to see this movie. Either way, I’ll keep an eye out for Mr. Ayers this summer. I hope to make lots of new friends, too.

Here is the 60 Minutes segment on The Soloist if you haven’t seen it already.

Comments
  1. robinhayes says:

    Al, I read a really great book you would probably like. It’s called “Same Kind of Different as Me”, and it’s about a white millionaire who becomes friends with a black homeless man. I cried a good bit, and I’ve been meaning to tell you about it. Love and miss you all!!

  2. alsturgeon says:

    Thanks, Robin! Sounds like something I’d enjoy (other than the crying part). 🙂

    Love and miss you all, too!

Leave a Reply

