Back in the Saddle

Posted: July 12, 2009 in Miscellaneous

Yet another ticket-free day in Malibu!

Well, I preached this morning. First time in almost a year. They laughed at my jokes. People seemed uncomfortable when I stepped on our toes. No one threw anything at me. People said nice things to my face afterward. This meets my definition of “going well.”

It didn’t really feel as weird as I expected it to feel. This may sound really strange, but preaching is the easiest thing I’ve ever done. I don’t mean that preaching is easy, or that the preaching profession is an easy one. I’m just saying that, for me, preaching is the easiest thing I’ve ever done. Teaching/coaching was way harder for me. Law school is way harder for me. Preaching seems to come naturally. I’m not saying I’m good at it – there’s a difference between easy and good.

Some may argue that the “coming naturally” part means that I shouldn’t have given up on it, but it isn’t that simple. However, I do hope it bodes well for my future career in litigation. I can only hope that standing in front of a crowd and connecting with a jury feels natural to me as well.

Several nice (bored) folks asked if my sermon would be available online, and I think that it will. I had to sign a waiver to allow it to be posted on the church’s website. I’ll let you know when it’s there.

Leave a Reply

