So There Are Bugs in California After All

Posted: July 27, 2009 in Miscellaneous

I’ve been bragging all year about how Californians don’t have to bother with humidity or bugs, two things native Southerners would appreciate. Well, it’s still true, but my Malibu doctor told me today that I’m suffering from a bug of a different kind.

He said I would have picked up this bug before my trip to Arkansas last week, so there is no truth to the rumor that I am allergic to the South. I’m just an unlucky guy who is stuck with being sick for a while. Nothing that a little time, rest, fluids, ibuprofen, and Mucinex-DM won’t cure.

Being sick sucks plenty all by itself, but to me it’s exacerbated by having to miss work. I would have been supervising today, and I would be advocating tomorrow — but for now, I’m just hoping to make it back to join my team of law clerks by Wednesday.

Sometimes you think that your body finds a way to force you to rest when you don’t listen to it very well. If so, I’d appreciate a note or something instead of the combination of fever/headache/congestion/aches/cough. The latter just spoils the heck out of any rest.

Comments
  1. texfan says:

    Interesting how things happen that tell us to slow down or take a break. My moment was this morning, I usually get up between 3-4 am to do homework but for some reason my phone shutoff this morning and allowed me to sleep in until about 4:30. I actually feel somewhat better for now. The funny thing is that my phone was fully charged, I must have hit a button on it or something to shut it off. I hope you get to feeling better soon, I suggest tomato soup, grilled cheese sandwich and spending sometime with Sheriff Andy Taylor and Deputy Barney Fife today. Get well soon.

    Marion

  2. alsturgeon says:

    Thanks, Marion. I do like the sound of your prescription. 🙂

Leave a Reply

