Whole Lotta Wednesday

Posted: July 29, 2009 in Miscellaneous

1. Well, I took a chance and went to work today. Didn’t know how I’d make it with my recovering illness, but overall I made it okay. Will try Round Two tomorrow.

2. I’m glad I made it today in particular because Judge Harry Pregerson came to speak, and he was a hoot. He’s 86 years old, and the sharpest, funniest 86-year-old you’ll ever meet. Heck, he’s probably the sharpest, funniest any age guy you’ll ever meet! Judge Pregerson is one of those liberal, activist judges that Rush Limbaugh loves to hate. So I liked him right away. 🙂 He has also been accused of doing more to help the homeless in Los Angeles than any other person.

3. I found out today that I was awarded a spot on Pepperdine’s Dispute Resolution Law Journal (DRLJ). The Law Review is the showcase journal at Pepperdine, but I had decided that my first choice was the DRLJ. So this news made me happy.

4. My friend, Kelsey, passed along a really neat article from NPR. Check it out HERE.

5. Here was the bad news from California yesterday, and not surprising to me, it involves the Governator (who has not been accused of doing more to help the homeless than any other person):

SACRAMENTO (AP) Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger made additional cuts to child welfare programs, medical care for the poor and AIDS prevention efforts Tuesday as he signed an $85 billion compromise spending plan that he called “the good, the bad and the ugly.”

Schwarzenegger used his line-item veto authority to save an additional $656 million that will let the state restore a reserve fund he says is needed for tough times.

Schwarzenegger’s vetoes include $80 million from child welfare programs; $61 million in county funding to administer Medi-Cal, California’s version of Medicare; $52 million from AIDS prevention; $50 million to Healthy Families, the low-cost health insurance program for poor children; and $6.2 million more from state parks.

“Those are ugly cuts and I’m the only one that is really responsible for those cuts because the Legislature left, they didn’t want to make those cuts,” he said.

The Republican governor called the budget package aimed at balancing the state’s budget through June 30, 2010, the toughest since he took office in 2003. Still, Schwarzenegger said the package included reforms he has long sought and forces government to live within its means.

6. For those out there who never knew me with hair (and/or, when I was actually young), here’s a old-timey picture from my friend, Lynn, thanks to the wonder that is Facebook. (Admittedly, not my most masculine pose of all-time.) 🙂

al

Leave a Reply

