Rain, Rain, Go Away, Come Again in Six Months Or So

Posted: October 13, 2009 in Miscellaneous

I guess you could say it rained in Malibu today. Given my extensive experience with rainfall I would rate it as a “slight drizzle.” You would think it was a monsoon.

It comes as no surprise to anyone that living in Malibu is unique. But I never saw the rain thing coming. Get this, boys and girls: When I went to the USC game with my friends, the weather topic came up and I asked if anyone could remember the last time it rained around here. Brian, a math professor who is really good with statistics of any sort, knew immediately. It was February.

February.

That’s right, kids, this is October. And the last rain we had was February.

You remember being a kid and asking your parents why it had to rain out your Little League game? I bet you got the same answer: The world can’t do without rain.

A big fat lie. Or, at least Malibu can do without rain for the biggest part of a year.

Hillary said her history teacher told them that there may be thunder and lightning tonight. She said her classmates were so excited. Being the weather snob that I am, I laugh in their general direction.

You know the expression, “Don’t you have enough sense to come in out of the rain?” No one does in Malibu. We’re all out taking pictures.

Leave a Reply

