God’s Will

Posted: October 16, 2009 in Lessons

This will sound a little presumptuous, and a lot weird, but I am off and on working on writing my philosophy of life. I really don’t know why, other than a desire to make a little sense out of everything.

Anyhow. This little side project of mine is starting to come together. I have narrowed a bunch of stuff down to three broad areas of things that I think are really important. Once I find a way to assemble it all, I’m sure I’ll inflict it on everyone via my blog. Consider yourself warned.

But today, I ran across a little blurb about one of my life philosopher heroes, Will D. Campbell. This little paragraph fits neatly into my first big section of my project. Consider it a sneak preview.

Here it is:

Will Campbell, a graduate of Yale’s divinity school, is an amateur country musician and hardscrabble farmer who sips whiskey with friends who are members of the Ku Klux Klan. He holds all institutions–including the church–in disdain and refuses to pastor even the smallest congregation. He doesn’t even attend church Sunday mornings. “There is a little tavern we go to quite often,” he says, talking about his rural home near Nashville. “I marry the people. Bury the people. Get them out of jail, or try to, and so on. Every one of them, without exception, would be at my house as quickly as they could get there. And I would be at theirs. That is church.”

Leave a Reply

