Justice for Rosie

Posted: March 12, 2010 in Justice

I told you a while back about my friend (Awesome Jenny)’s efforts at USC Law to secure freedom for Rosie Sanchez. Some of you may have even joined me in sending emails & letters to Governor Schwarzenegger on Rosie’s behalf.

Well, I received a GREAT NEWS email from Jenny this morning, and it said:

“It is with great excitement that I share with you all that the Governor has decided to let Rosie out of prison!! I am very excited for her and her family to finally be reunited after being robbed of 23 years together. The media really picked up this story this week and it’s been all over the news. If you want to check out any of the stories, google “Rosie Sanchez parole crime” and that seems to pick up most of the English-speaking stories that are out there right now. I actually found out yesterday at about 5:15pm when one of the reporters called me asking for my reaction to the news…and I hadn’t actually heard the news yet! (Turns out the governor’s office did email me the decision at 5:10pm but I wasn’t in front of my computer). Anyways, thank you all for your support and for your letters and emails to the Governor. I KNOW that Rosie thanks you too! My understanding of the process from here is that her family gets to go pick her up on thursday.”

I can’t imagine the interminable streak of bad days that Rosie has seen come and go. But thankfully, today is a good day.

HERE IS A LINK to a short news clip about the good news.

Leave a Reply

