Seems Like the Best Stories Are the Old Stories

Posted: April 27, 2010 in Family and Friends

I enjoyed so much the chance to spend some time with Eric Johns tonight. Eric is a businessman in Nashville, Tennessee, and he is in L.A. for a conference this week. Tonight I had the chance to show him around Malibu and go out to dinner (which HE ended up paying for somehow!), but best of all, I had the pleasure of hanging out and swapping old stories with a great guy.

I was still 21 years old when I started teaching/coaching, and I guess that would have made Eric 13. I was his teacher/coach during his 8th, 9th, and 10th grade years. Funny how time has flown and left us 39 and 31, but it is also funny how stories from so long ago arose like they happened yesterday. I think we could have swapped stories all night.

Some people are made to live in the town they grew up in and some simply aren’t, and I guess both Eric and I are two of the latter. No matter. We come from the same hometown, and that bond will always be there. I think we both love the new experiences and new relationships that have come our way over the years, but those old memories remain very special.

Leave a Reply

